Hot!Anyone not like Q-Rings?

Page: 12345.. > >> Showing page 1 of 6
Author
thecanoe
  • Total Posts : 1528
  • Reward points: 0
2010/11/23 07:36:04 (permalink)

Anyone not like Q-Rings?

I've been riding bents since 1999 and my Aero since 2003. I've always used standard round rings and am hesitant to believe all the hype about Q-Rings. That said, I haven't heard anything negative about them. As my knees age, I am thinking about Q-rings again.
Anyone NOT LIKE Q-RINGS? Anyone try them and then go back to ROUND?

Larry

Ti Aero
Surly Moonlander fat bike
Santa Cruz Tallboy carbon 29er
Bassyak (for stripers and blues)

116 Replies Related Threads

bent1
    • Total Posts : 62
    RE: Anyone not like Q-Rings? 2010/11/23 09:28:31 (permalink)
    Canoe,

I'm sure you will get lots of opinions with an open end question like that.  Ha. 

I am a big believer personally.  I have Q rings on everything that I own.

The secret, in my opinion, is to have them set up/ phased perfectly.  I am amazed, when casually looking at peoples bikes, how many sets that I see that are improperly installed.

It seems that, frequently, even respected shops get it wrong.

Joe

gregraven
    • Total Posts : 254
    RE: Anyone not like Q-Rings? 2010/11/23 10:35:25 (permalink)
    I can understand the bad set-ups: The instructions are incomprehensible.
    MakM
    • Total Posts : 470
    RE: Anyone not like Q-Rings? 2010/11/23 12:11:36 (permalink)
    I like my Q rings. Like free power. There is one problem. Up shifting is not as smooth as w/ round rings. After 1200+ miles, I am still working out a "smooth" shift.
    Mark

CA 2
    Giro 24TT(for sale)
    Bike E(now for my wife)
    "Me and the Machine vs Physics and Gravity, a title fight"
    ronsmithjunior
    • Total Posts : 649
    RE: Anyone not like Q-Rings? 2010/11/23 13:27:35 (permalink)