Hot!ROLL CALL!

Page: < 12345.. > >> Showing page 5 of 33
Author
BirdieMama
  • Total Posts : 2544
  • Reward points: 0
RE: ROLL CALL! 2005/07/26 01:56:09 (permalink)
Greetings Everyone!

I am a 56-year young 12-year cancer survivor. I had connective tissue cancer (fibro sarcoma) in 1993 and lost most of the trapezius muscle in my left shoulder and a good-sized chunk of my left lung, too. I've been riding since I was 8 years old, so the cancer created a need for me to ride more upright/with flat bars, since one shoulder is very weak. I got tired of snobby roadies not even giving me the time of day since I was on a "hybrid" (it is a good road bike... just has flat bars), so I did the stupid thing and tried to go back to drop bars this past April to "fit in" (like who should care?). The result was nearly disasterous to my left side and I lost 75% use of my left hand in a very short period of time. How I did that is another story for another post, let's just say it really, really hurt. That's what I get for not just saying to hell with the snobs and just being "me". So... a nerve conduction study, several hand surgeons consultations and a diagnosis of "Guyon's canal syndrome" ... and two surgeries later, here I am. The nerve conduction doctor and one of the hand surgeons (both serious cyclists) said "You really ought to think about riding a recumbent, at least most of the time." I had been very intriqued by 'bents for years, but just before all of this hand-business, a friend back east told me about the Bacchetta. With the doctor's suggestions and her email in my memory, I started doing a bit of research and I am now the proud owner of an Aero! Bianca Bacchetta is sitting in my living room awaiting my stitches coming out this Thursday and then "she" and I are off to a nearby huge parking lot for lots of practice.