Hot!Hills. Slow.

Author
Bogiesan
  • Total Posts : 84
  • Reward points: 0
2018/05/20 06:46:44 (permalink)

Hills. Slow.

I’ve been doing a local charity metric century for 15 years. I have performance records for each ride including the last five which were tracked with Garmin devices recording speed and elevation. This was my first year on the Bacchetta Giro 26; all others were on an Easy Racers Tour Easy or Gold Rush.

Each year my average speed over the 64-mile course was 15-17.6mph. The ER bikes were all fully faired and I sometimes rode with the body skin attached. My best time was in 2014 (age 60) when I had what was probably my best cycling season ever (down 18 pounds and weeks of serious, early training).

Yesterday’s ride was a lot of fun. Conditions were ideal. The bike Was comfortable and I was fast on the flats, easily maintaining 18-23mph. Data from the ER bikes has me steadily at 16-20mph on the same stretches. But the whole 64 miles turned out to be a bit of a slog yesterday with an average of only 14.5mph. The reason was the hills.

The course has not changed in 20 years and includes a total of 2200 feet of rollers with a few short 9% pitches. And that’s where my average speed took the hit. I’ve got the data. I can see it. The ER bikes were easier on the ascents. Much faster. ON the Bacchetta I’m doing 4.5 to 7.0mph but on the same hills on the ERs I was doing 6.0 to 10mph. That’s 30% or better.

Sure, I’m a year older and I’m lugging around my winter tummy but my performance on the flats suggests I can still get the job done. I guess it’s all in the geometry of the bike.

I’ll know more by the end of this season.

8 Replies Related Threads

Crit Rider
    • Total Posts : 1899
    Re: Hills. Slow. 2018/05/25 10:25:23 (permalink)
    .....and the aerodynamics of a partially or fully faired bike vs unfaired. 
    I would also do some careful analysis of your leg extension on both bikes. 
    You might be close to ideal on the TE, but not the Basso.